Live in Metro Atlanta But Don’t Know These Details?…

Thanks to the AJC for sharing this valuable information for voters who live in Metro Atlanta areas of Georgia. 

If you have questions, feedback, or suggestions that you want to direct to city and/or county officials where you live and work, then here’s the information that you need to contact them directly. If you want to know how you can become more involved to help these public servants better serve your community, well now you have their contact information. 

Please note that this list is current as of April, so please confirm by visiting their respective websites:

Atlanta

Mayor: Kasim Reed. 55 Trinity Ave. SW, Suite 2400, Atlanta 30303. 404-330-6100; fax: 404-658-7361; mayorreed@atlanta ga.gov

City Council: Meets at 1 p.m. the first and third Mondays at City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave. SW, Suite 2900, Atlanta 30303. 404-330-6030; fax: 404-739-9118.

Council members

Ceasar C. Mitchell, Council President. 404-330-6052, ccmitchell@atlantaga.gov

Carla Smith. (District 1). 404-330-6039, csmith@atlantaga.gov

Kwanza Hall (District 2). 404-330-6038, khall@atlantaga.gov

Ivory Lee Young Jr. (District 3). 404-330-6046, ilyoung@atlantaga.gov

Cleta Winslow (District 4). 404-330-6047, cwinslow@atlantaga.gov

Natalyn Mosby Archibong (District 5). 404-330-6048, narchibong@atlantaga.gov

Alex Wan (District 6). 404-330-6049, awan@atlantaga.gov

Howard Shook. (District 7) 404-330-6050, hshook@atlantaga.gov

Yolanda Adrean (District 8). 404-330-6051, yadrean@atlantaga.gov

Felicia Moore (District 9). 404-330-6044, fmoore@atlantaga.gov

Clarence T. Martin (District 10). 404-330-6055, cmartin@atlantaga.gov

Keisha Botttoms (District 11). 404-330-6054, kbottoms@atlantaga.gov

Joyce Sheperd (District 12). 404-330-6053, jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov

Michael Julian Bond (Post 1 at large). 404-330-6770, mbond@atlantaga.gov

Mary Norwood (Post 2 at large). 404-330-6302, mnorwood@atlantaga.gov

Andre Dickens (Post 3 at large). 404-330-6041, adickens@atlantaga.gov

Cherokee County

http://www.cherokeega.com

County Manager: Jerry W. Cooper, 1130 Bluffs Parkway, Canton 30114; 678-493-6001; fax 678-493-6013; jcooper@cherokeega.com

County Commission: 1130 Bluffs Parkway, Upper Level, Canton 30114; 678-493-6000; fax: 678-493-6013; meets 6 p.m., first and third Tuesdays.

Commissioners

L.B. Ahrens (Chairman): 678-493-6000, lbahrens@cherokeega.com

Steve West (District 1). 678-493-6000, sbwest@cherokeega.com

Raymond Gunnin (District 2). 678-493-6000, rgunnin@cherokeega.com

Brian Poole (District 3). 678-493-6000, bpoole@cherokeega.com

K. Scott Gordon (District 4). 678-493-6000; ksgordon@cherokeega.com

Clayton County

http://www.claytoncountyga.gov

County Commission: Clayton County Administration, Annex 1, 112 Smith St., Jonesboro, Ga. 30236. Office: 770-477-3208. Fax: 770-477-3217. 

Commission meets at 7 p.m. the first and third Tuesday of each month in the Commissioners’ Board Room at 112 Smith St., Jonesboro.

Commissioners

Jeffrey E. Turner (Chairman). 770-477-3208. jeff.turner@claytoncountyga.gov

Sonna Singleton (District 1). 770-473-5770. sonna.singleton@claytoncountyga.gov

Gail Hambrick, (District 2). 770-603-4135. gail.hambrick@claytoncountyga.gov

Shana M. Rooks, (District 3). 770-477-3214. shana.rooks@claytoncountyga.gov

Michael Edmondson, (District 4). 770-477-3216. michael.edmondson@claytoncountyga.gov

Cobb County

cobbcounty.org

County manager: David Hankerson, 100 Cherokee St., Marietta 30090. 770-528-2600; fax: 770-528-2606; dhankerson@cobbcounty.org

County Commission: 100 Cherokee St., Marietta 30090. 770-528-3300; fax: 528-2606. Meets at 9 a.m. second Tuesdays and at 7 p.m. fourth Tuesdays.

Commissioners

Tim Lee (Chairman). 770-528-3305, tlee@cobbcounty.org

Bob Weatherford (District 1). 770-528-3313, bob.weatherford@cobbcounty.org

Bob Ott (District 2). 770-528-3316, bob.ott@cobbcounty.org

JoAnn Birrell (District 3). 770-528-3317, joann.birrell@cobbcounty.org

Lisa Cupid( District 4). 770-528-3312, lisa.cupid@cobbcounty.org

 Coweta County

http://www.coweta.ga.us

County Commission: Coweta County Administration building, 22 E. Broad St., Newnan 30263, 770-254-2601; Fax: 770-254-2606. 

Meets every first and third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at 37 Perry St., (Entrance “D”) Newnan 30263. See meeting schedule for adjustments to regular meeting dates.

Commissioners

Paul Poole (District 1), 770-301-6250, ppoole@coweta.ga.us

Tim Lassetter (Chairman) (District 2), 770-253-4259, tlassetter@coweta.ga.us

Bob Blackburn (District 3), 404 -630-4351, bblackburn@coweta.ga.us

Rodney Brooks (District 4), 404-557-5942, rbrooks@coweta.ga.us

Al Smith (District 5), 404-409-7557 alsmith@coweta.ga.us

DeKalb County

http://www.dekalbcountyga.gov

Phone: 404-371-2000.

County Commission: 1300 Commerce Drive, Decatur 30030. Fax: 404-371-2886. Meets the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 9 a.m. in the Maloof Auditorium at 1300 Commerce Drive.

(Interim) Chief executive officer:        Lee May

1300 Commerce Drive, sixth floor, Decatur 30030. 404-371-2881; fax: 404-687-3585, ceoleemay@dekalbcountyga.gov

Nancy Jester (District 1). 404-371-2844, njester@dekalbcountyga.gov

Jeff Rader (District 2). 404-371-2863, jrader@dekalbcountyga.gov

Larry Johnson (District 3). 404-371-2425, larryjohnson@dekalbcountyga.gov

Sharon Barnes Sutton (District 4). 404-371-4907, sbsutton@dekalbcountyga.gov

Mereda Davis Johnson (District 5). 404-371-2159, mdjohnson@dekalbcountyga.gov

Kathie Gannon (Super District 6). 404-371-4909 kgannon@dekalbcountyga.gov

Super District 7 is currently vacant.

Fayette County

http://www.fayettecountyga.gov

County Commission: Meets at 7 p.m. the second and fourth Thursdays of the month. County Commission office, 140 Stonewall Ave. W., Fayetteville 30214. Phone: 770-305-5200, Ext. 5101. Fax: 770-305-5210.

County Administrator, Steven A. Rapson, 140 Stonewall Ave. W., Fayetteville 30214. 770-305-5100, srapson@fayettecountyga.gov.

Commissioners

Charles Oddo, chairman (District 4). 770-305-5104, coddo@fayettecountyga.gov

Randy Ognio, vice chairman (District 2). 770-996-8993, rognio@fayettecountyga.gov

David Barlow, (District 1). 770-305-5123, dbarlow@fayettecountyga.gov

Steve Brown (District 3). 770-305-5103, commissionerbrown@fayettecountyga.gov

Charles D. Rousseau (District 5). 770-305-5121, crousseau@fayettecountyga.gov

Forsyth County

http://www.forsythco.com

County administrator: Doug Derrer, 110 E. Main St. Suite 210, Cumming 30040. 770-781-2101; fax: 770-781-2199.

County Commission: 110 E. Main St., Cumming 30040. 770-781-2101; fax. 770-781-2199. Meets 5 p.m. first and third Thursdays, Suite 220.

R.J. (Pete) Amos – (District 1) (Chairman). 678-513-5881, rjamos@forsythco.com

Brian R. Tam (District 2) (Secretary). 678-513-5882, brtam@forsythco.com

Todd Levent (District 3) 678-513-5883, tlevent@forsythco.com

Cindy Jones Mills (District 4) (Vice Chairman). 678-513-5884, cjmills@forsythco.com

Jim Boff (District 5). 678-513-5885, jjboff@forsythco.com

 Fulton County

http://www.co.fulton.ga.us

County Manager: Richard “Dick” Anderson, 141 Pryor St. SW, Suite 10062, Atlanta 30303, 404-612-8320.

County Commission: 141 Pryor St. SW, Suite 10044, Atlanta 30303. 404-612-8200. Meets 10 a.m. first and third Wednesdays, Fulton County Government Center Assembly Hall, 10th floor, 141 Pryor St. S.W., Atlanta 30303.

Commissioners

John Eaves (District 7 at-large) (Chairman). 404-612-8206, john.eaves@fultoncountyga.gov

Liz Hausmann (District 1) (Vice Chairman). 404-612-8213, liz.hausmann@fultoncountyga.gov

Bob Ellis (District 2). 404-612-8216, bob.ellis@fultoncountyga.gov

Lee Morris (District 3). 404-612-8200, lee.morris@fultoncountyga.gov

Joan P. Garner, (District 4). 404-612-8226, joan.garner@fultoncountyga.gov

Marvin S. Arrington, Jr. (District 5). 404-613-0200, Marvin.Arrington@fultoncountyga.gov

Emma I. Darnell, 404-612-8222, emma.darnell@fultoncountyga.gov

Gwinnett County

http://www.gwinnettcounty.com

County Administrator: Glenn Stephens, 75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville 30045. 770-822-7000, Glenn.Stephens@gwinnettcounty.com.

County Commission: 75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville 30045. 770-822-7000. The County Commission meets at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of every month.

Commissioners

Charlotte J. Nash (Chairman). 770-822-7010, Charlotte.Nash@gwinnettcounty.com

Jace Brooks (District 1). 770-822-7001, Jace.Brooks@gwinnettcounty.com

Lynette Howard (District 2). 770-822-7002, Lynette.Howard@gwinnettcounty.com

Tommy Hunter (District 3). 770-822-7003, Tommy.Hunter@gwinnettcounty.com

John Heard (District 4). 770-822-7004, John.Heard@gwinnettcounty.com

Henry County

http://www.co.henry.ga.us

County Manager: Lyndon L. Bonner, 140 Henry Parkway, McDonough 30253. 770-288-6270, lbonner@co.henry.ga.us.

County Commission: Meets at 9 a.m. the first Tuesday of each month and at 6:30 p.m. the third Tuesday of each month. Henry County Commission, 140 Henry Parkway, McDonough 30253, 770-288-6001, fax: 770-288-6025.

Commissioners

Tommy N. Smith (Chairman). 770-288-6001, tsmith@co.henry.ga.us

Bo Moss (District 1). 770-288-6001, bmoss@co.henry.ga.us

Brian Preston (District 2). 770-288-6001, bpreston@co.henry.ga.us

Gary Barham (District 3). 770-288-6001, gbarham@co.henry.ga.us

Blake Prince (District 4). 770-288-6001, bprince@co.henry.ga.us

Bruce B. Holmes (District 5). 770-288-6001, bholmes@co.henry.ga.us

AJC Covers the Women 2 Women Conference in Atlanta

By Natasha Foreman Bryant

As a member of the Women 2 Women Conference host committee, it was great to hear about and see the write up by Ernie Suggs of the AJC for this year’s conference. I’m honored to serve as a Session Coordinator this year, and I’m excited to see, meet, reconnect, and hear these amazing women share their thoughts, advice, challenges, stories, and words of encouragement this Saturday.

To register for the conference after reading this article please visit: women2womenconference.com

Below please find excerpts from the original AJC post:

Conference will allow women to share life lessons

by Ernie Suggs

Maya Angelou, whose words have inspired millions, including presidents, kings and Oprah, will be in Atlanta on Saturday to inspire women.

Angelou will be the keynote speaker at the “Women 2 Women 2014 Inaugural Conference: Intergenerational Life Lessons & Legacies,” sponsored by Young Eventions Group, an Atlanta-based nonprofit mentoring organization for women.

+ Jenni Girtman

Conference will allow women to share life lessons

Angelou has written more than 20 books, including “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings,” one in a series of autobiographies; “Just Give Me a Cool Drink of Water ‘fore I Die,” which was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize; and “Letter To My Daughter.” In 1993, President Bill Clinton selected her to compose a poem for his inauguration, which ended up being her most iconic work, “On the Pulse of the Morning.”

The day-long conference will be held at the Atlanta Marriot Marquis from 7 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. According to founder Sonjia Young, the conference is “designed to bring women together across generations to share life lessons and experiences that will inspire and empower attendees to transform their lives and be a catalyst for change in the home, community and in the workplace.”

Atlanta Journal-Constitution reporter Ernie Suggs chatted with the 85-year-old Angelou about the conference and what the inspirations will be.

+ Mary Altaffer

Conference will allow women to share life lessons

Why is this particular conference important to you?

It is quite important to women and to girls, but also to men and boys. The program hopes to encourage young women to believe in their own self-worth. When women don’t feel worth, they can’t insist upon it. Then men treat them the way they like. The conference hopes to develop a desire to be worthy of good treatment. And, with that, the health of the family is increased.

If there is a thinking that women are not feeling worthy of anything, when did that shift happen?

+ REED SAXON

Conference will allow women to share life lessons

The shift is going on now, but it didn’t just start. There was a time when women could not vote or own property – black, white and all persuasions. We have come a long way. We now have women heading important Ivy League colleges. We are thinking about Hillary Clinton in 2016. But that doesn’t mean we have come all the way. It shows that we need to grow in a sense of self-worth and a fair place.

What is it about your writings and words that continue to inspire and motivate people?

I have lived long enough that I should know something. In a few months I will be celebrating my 86th year on this earth. As soon as you know something, you should give it away. I used to think of myself as a writer who could teach. But really, I am a teacher who can write. As soon as you know something and you have tried it, tell it to someone. Also, never fall in love with a position. Have enough courage to change.

Related Gallery

Angelou’s birthday celebration

Is courage important to you?

For more details about the Women 2 Women Conference, or to register online:
women2womenconference.com

Source: AJC.com

Copyright 2014. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved.

20140227-151240.jpg

20140227-151257.jpg

20140227-151309.jpg

20140227-151317.jpg